Cally

My blogs

Blogs I follow

About me

Gender FEMALE
Location Kauroa, Waikato, New Zealand
Introduction After being a SAHM way back since I became pregnant with my eldest son in 1980, and homeschooling / unschooling all four of my boys, my youngest son started University in February 2009. Since then I have put my energy into our land. In 2010 I did a year-long modular Permaculture Design Certificate. In April 2011 I started a one year correspondence course in Apicultural Knowledge with Telford: A Division of Lincoln University in order to increase my knowledge of bees and beekeeping. I live on 16 acres of land, of which about 11 acres is bush with a stream running through the middle. I live here with my husband, Mac.
Interests Developing our property with a tendency towards organics and permaculture. I love my bees and chooks (chickens). I enjoy book making and associated paper crafts, other craft, and writing, particularly poetry.
Favorite Movies I hardly ever watch movies. I'd rather read a book any day or night.
Favorite Music Pink Floyd, Beatles, Rolling Stones, Dylan, Billy Joel, Morphine, Xavier Rudd, Cake and various bits of jazz that just filter through unknown and make me feel good. Best of all, I love hearing my sons playing their various instruments: saxophone, recorders, trumpet, clarinet, flute, marimba - whatever.
Favorite Books 'Prodigal Summer' & 'Animal, Vegetable, Miracle'- Barbara Kingsolver, 'Bird by Bird' & 'Operating Instructions'- Anne Lamott, 'Mother Tongue - Bill Bryson are a few of my all time favourites