Kate

My blogs

About me

Gender FEMALE
Occupation Suburban Peasant, Thrivalist
Location Southeastern Pennsylvania, United States
Introduction I live on a 2/3 acre homestead in a residential neighborhood. A major goal is to demonstrate how much food a non-expert can produce in my particular climate and hardiness zone, with the soils native to my immediate area. We have gardens of annual and perennial plants, keep laying hens and honey bees, and regularly bite off more than we can chew. Another major goal is to pay off our mortgage as fast as possible. Here I blog about frugality, self-reliance, gardening, cooking and baking, food preservation, practical skills, half-baked experiments, and preparing to thrive in a lower-energy future.
Interests home cooking, baking, eating well, cultures, American history, languages, good books, gardening, conversation, understanding what makes us all tick, a nice cup of tea, frugality, self-sufficiency, homesteading, do it yourself, backyard poultry, sustainability, canning, home curing, lacto-fermentation, dumpster diving, lifelong learning, forest gardening, appropriate technology, honey bees, beekeeping, subverting the dominant paradigm
Favorite Movies Down by Law, Tampopo, Hope & Glory, Withnail & I, Dr. Strangelove
Favorite Books White Oleander, Interesting Women, Lolita, Cold Mountain, Carter Beats the Devil, After You'd Gone, My Part of the River, The Time Traveler's Wife, The First American, John Adams, The Bell, The Eyre Affair, Samuel Pepys: The Unequalled Self, The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat, This Organic Life, The Three Incestuous Sisters, The Tao te Ching as translated by Stephen Mitchell, Old School, Brokeback Mountain, The Bone People