A Mental Manic

My blogs

Blogs I follow

About me

Gender FEMALE
Occupation Improving my mental health)
Location Midwest, United States
Introduction Hi There!!!! Welcome...I'm brand new to this. I struggle thru bi-polar II (hypomania, anxiety & sometimes self-medicate w/ alcohol for a few moments of relief...Bad. I had 22.5 yrs of sobriety but after 3 yrs of mental disorders, I gave in and bought a bottle of wine...Bad. I have one child but she is grown & lives across the US in Los Angeles, Ca. I Live w/2 dogs, Bella & Farris. We take turns being alpha. Before I became ill, I was in the US Army, christian school bus driver (that was fuckin' hard), Red Lobster server & IBEW union electrician (commercial). Developed a interest in construction, home improvement/repair when my Dad helped, read: mucho help, my sister & I to built a duplex home for both of us & kids. So, the last 4 yrs have been rough & I have lost lots. I have a great therapist & also attend their dual IOP group therapy (dual disorder/dual diagnosis/co-morbid.) which is for people who have a mental issue AND a substance abuse problem. Some studies state 70+% of one have the other.
Interests Mental disorders (especially bi-polar, depression & anxiety), Substance abuse, Recovery, New friends, Networking, Humor, Gardening, Dogs, Interior design, etc.
Favorite Movies Action/Adventure, Drama, Comedy, some Romance...
Favorite Music Old Skool, Funk, R&B, Classic Rock
Favorite Books Had been reading non-fiction only for years but now like crime thrillers.

Hi There! Are you "normal"?