Karen Martin Sampson

My blogs

Blogs I follow

About me

Industry Arts
Occupation painter
Location Sayward, BC, Canada
Introduction In the last third of my life and finding I am braver now. My second husband, Bob, is my helpmate and my love. My grown son is a blessing and a friend. Bob's daughter and grandson are now part of my loving family. I care deeply about our planet, advocating for those who are helpless, and animal rights, but mindful, even selfish, of my need for solitude, time at the easel, and with my books. There are times when being an artist is hard, frustrating, and not paying too well. Mostly there are times when it flows, invigorates, and offers serenity. Then there are my surroundings in which I am so blessed here on North Vancouver Island; mountains, ocean, forest, wildlife - it is all so amazing to this mid-eastern born and raised girl! Many mornings I join Bob with our four dogs for a hike up the mountain trail. There is a group of us who meet Tuesday mornings to work from models and the community of fellow artists is important to me. There have been trials and problems along the way but on the whole I think I must have done something right in my former life. Wishing good karma, love, and fulfillment to my fellow earth travelers.
Interests Reading, sewing, textile design, ecology, biking, canoeing, vegetarian cooking
Favorite Movies Out of Africa, My Dinner With Andre, Reds, Annie Hall, and the latest James Bond.
Favorite Music I love most music, but especially classic Rock, classic Classical, R&B, Folk, Country, and sometimes Opera.
Favorite Books Too many to name, but includes 19th century Russian novels, memoirs, biographies of artists and writers, and really good mysteries.