Meg/Patterson Crow

My blogs

About me

Gender FEMALE
Industry Arts
Occupation Graduate Student, Artist
Location Connecticut, United States
Introduction I guess the best way to describe myself is as a hippie grad student, wife and mom to two dogs and a cat who thinks she's a dog. I have a double B.A. in studio art and English/creative writing, and dollmaking is thus far my way of sharing my creative abilities. I love making all types of dolls, especially antique repros, and sending them off to their new homes is always a bittersweet experience. I can't say I've ever fit in well with any group of doll artists, though I've met many amazingly talented and supportive people through ebay. My designs are my own, and each is one of a kind. I try my best to make everything about my dolls original--from their facial expressions to their clothing and/or companions. Aside from making dolls, I am slowly working on my Master's thesis and trying to live as "green" as possible. I also love to cook and have recently become a Lia Sophia advisor--not something I'd normally do, as I'm not a good saleswoman, but it's something different and will hopefully help pay for fabric, paint, clay etc, so I can continue making unusual, from-the-heart dolls.
Interests Doll making, home brewing, oil painting, writing poetry, Indian cuisine, music, movies
Favorite Movies (in no specific order) The Graduate, Harold and Maude, As Good As It Gets, Lost In Translation, Office Space, Lord of the Rings, Labyrinth, Little Miss Sunshine
Favorite Music Led Zeppelin, Gillian Welch, Fleetwood Mac, Fiction Plane, The Cranberries, The Wailin' Jennys, Heart, John Hiatt, Tori Amos, Natalie Merchant