Hen

My blogs

About me

Gender FEMALE
Occupation Housewife
Location Somerset, United Kingdom
Introduction Hello and thank you for visiting the HenHouse. I'm a stay-at-home thirty-something mum looking after Mr HenHouse and the Munchkin, aged 13 (going on 18). We also have a gorgeous and very spoiled ginger tom, Charlie Boy. Sadly we had to say goodbye to our two other furry boys this year. We have recently moved from the city to our dream home in the West Country. I have always loved vintage and have collections of eiderdowns, china and fabrics to name just a few. I love sewing and am an avid patchworker and quilter. As a family, we are dotty about the past and love the 1940s, often dressing up for re-enactment events. To fund my fabric habit, I sell handmade items in my Etsy shop. I'm pretty nutty about interiors, too and our homes have been featured in various magazines.
Interests Hunting out goodies at car boot sales and flea markets etc. Cooking especially baking and preserves (and eating). Sewing and quilting. Shopping. Reading blogs. And of course, the 1940s.
Favorite Movies The Thomas Crown Affair, Pretty Woman, Carry on Camping, The Bourne films, The Sound of Music, Jason and the Argonauts, When Harry met Sally, Bridget Jones' Diary, Breakfast at Tiffanys, James Bond (esp. Daniel Craig!)
Favorite Music Lots of modern (ish) stuff and most importantly, Glen MIller, Elvis, Benny Goodman and all their vintage counterparts
Favorite Books Crafts, interiors, quilting and other than that, it's trashy chick lit, I'm afraid