Colombian Mommy

My blogs

About me

Gender FEMALE
Occupation Homemaker
Location The Pacific Northwest, United States
Introduction My foray into Colombian life and culture began almost 15 years ago when I met the man whom I would one day marry. He was a foreign student from the exotic land of Colombia. Instead of a big expensive wedding, we chose to use our limited funds on a 5 month honeymoon. We moved to Colombia, got jobs, and spent weekends and holidays touring much of the country. I fell in love with the people, the food, my in-laws, the countryside, and just about everything I saw in Colombia. All told, after 14 years of marriage, I have spent well over a year in Colombia. Two months of that time were spent during the adoption of our youngest son. For this blog, I will draw on my own insights and experience as well as that of my husband and his family. My husband has lived in Boyacá, Bogotá, Medellín, Cali, Pereira, Manizales, and Popayán. He spent two years working for a non-profit travelling through and spending time in much of Colombia. He also has family that have lived or are currently living in Tuluá, Yopal, Cúcuta, Barbosa, Barranquilla, Cartegena, Santa Marta, Valledupar, Tolima, and Leticia. So, I think we have most of the country covered.
Interests My Boys, My Church, Colombia, Family History, Adoption, Books, Reading, Writing, Hiking, Swimming, Salsa, Merengue, Vallenato, Culture, Recipes, Life
Favorite Books Cien Años de Soledad / One Hundred Years of Solitude, Caminando en el Tiempo