CynthiaK

Blogs I follow

About me

Gender Female
Industry Communications or Media
Occupation Freelance Writer, Mother, Household DJ
Location Ontario, Canada
Introduction Currently serving time as a suburban WAHMother of three hilarious, creative and chaotic children: 10 year old type A songstress, the 7 year old double agent (Max), and the 5 year old rabble-rouser (Finnegan). Until I make parole (which I expect - and hope! - will never happen), and in addition to my duties as mom, I'm also responsible for volunteering, freelance writing, singing and DJing, general goofiness and tremendously embarrassing dance moves. Oh, yes, I also drive a minivan.
Interests Listening to music, playing music, singing along to music, discovering new music...you get my drift. Oh, and I enjoy writing, reading, walking/dancing (these are interchangeable, non?) film... Of course, the most important 'interest' is the family, the whole crazy bunch of 'em. In a former life, I worked in marketing and fundraising in the non-profit sector and may go back someday.
Favorite Movies There are a lot but a sampling would include: Trainspotting, Four Weddings & A Funeral, Fried Green Tomatoes, Pee-Wee's Big Adventure, She's Having a Baby, Kay Kyser's You'll Find Out, The Incredibles, Wall-E, (or any Pixar film, really), The Commitments, anything by Wes Anderson, or featuring the likes of Robert Carlyle, Alan Rickman...
Favorite Music This is far too challenging. First and foremost, Neil Finn and anything related (Split Enz, Crowded House, etc.). World music, especially African beat. Folk. Rock. Pop. Pretty much anything non-Top 40. And, it's both music and telly (and humour) but I'm still loving Flight of the Conchords these days. Brilliant.
Favorite Books Too many to list.