Mike H

My blogs

About me

Gender MALE
Industry Engineering
Occupation Semi-retired
Location Wigginton, York, N Yorks, United Kingdom
Introduction I’m in my twilight years now working out what to do and how. I’m approaching 57 having done 40 years of something useful. Married to Maggie for 34 of those years with 2 kids in their mid-20’s. My training was in engineering with the UK Atomic Energy Authority. Having qualified, I “emigrated” to Zambia, lured by money and sunshine and in the later years progressed into project management handling the construction of processing plants for the copper/cobalt mining industry. They were exciting and fulfilling days lived to the full. Eventual redundancy turned me to self-employment for 10 years running a high street quick print business. I hated this experience and became my worst employee! I paid dearly for the experience both in money terms and deteriorating health. Now confined to barracks with hypertension, Ankylosing Spondylitis (spinal arthritis), troublesome digestive system and depression, I write this, not out of sympathy, but to develop new interests and pass the time. I crave for intellectual stimulation and some pocket money.
Interests Life Issues Environmental Subjects Current Affairs, Classical Music Family History Research Computing Wooden Model making Searching for money making opportunities Ebaying
Favorite Movies John Wayne movies Michael Caine movies And recently - Women in Lavender
Favorite Music Most Classical pieces but not Benjamin Britten The Magic Flute - Mozart Trad Jazz Relaxing Mood music
Favorite Books Wilbur Smith, Maps, Dictionaries and Reference Books. I read mainly newspapers. Have difficulty sitting still for long enough to read novels

You have to dig a hole to China. Where do you start?

Personally, I would not consider digging a hole to China.