Renee McAfee

My blogs

Blogs I follow

About me

Gender FEMALE
Industry Non-Profit
Occupation Graduate Student, Advocate, Mom
Location Rochester, New York, United States
Introduction My name is Renee. I have been married 23 years, and a parent to four grown children. My daughter Brianna has a diagnosis of CAPD and Learning Disability (she is 25 now and in her third year of college). My son Caleb who is 23 was diagnosed with a moderate form of autism at two years old. He graduated high school in June 2011. The doctors were not sure he would ever speak. He is my true MIRACLE! I graduated with a Bachelors in Science in Community and Human Services in 2013. I finished my Masters Degree in Social Policy with concentration in Nonprofit Management in August 2016. I have completed a lay advocacy program as well as NYS Partners in Policymaking funded through the Development Disabilities Planning Council. I currently hold a seat on the NYS OPWDD Parent Support Advisory Committee. I also provide emotional support to other parents with children with a developmental disability through the NYS Parent to Parent Network.
Interests Autism legislation, , advocacy, , learning everything there is to know about autism spectrum disorders, Helping and Inspiring other parents both here in the United States and abroad, autism
Favorite Movies Sleepless is Seattle, When Harry Met Sally, Eat Pray Love.
Favorite Music Mercyme, Mandisa, Tenth Avenue North, Casting Crowns (Contemporary Christian Music).
Favorite Books The Holy Bible, Eat Pray Love and Committed by Elizabeth Gilbert. Un Amico Italiano, Eat, Pray, Love in Rome by Luca Spaghetti

If mud is dirt plus water, what is clay?

Decomposed granite type rock.