Jonathan Smith

My blogs

About me

Gender MALE
Location Santa Barbara, California
Introduction I discovered travel when I was 17. I was living in Montreal and had just dropped out of high school. My friend Karl was planning to hitchhike across Canada. I asked if I could go with him and he said yes. It was an amazing journey. In Banff, Karl met up with his girlfriend. They asked me if I'd like to continue on with them but I declined. Instead I headed north by myself and ended up in the North-West Territories. I stayed there for one whole year before heading back to Montreal at the request of my parents. They were going back to England for a long visit and wanted someone to look after the house for them. That was over twenty years ago. Now I look back on it knowing that in that one year I went from being a troubled teen to being a man. I live in California now. For a variety of reasons this has been my base for the better part of 18 years. It's been and continues to be a good life. I've travelled extensively through the world and speak the beginnings of many languages. I have a solid base of excellent friends, a wonderful girlfriend of long standing and a future that promises to be as bright and as vibrant as all my experiences of the past.
Interests Language, traveling, gamelan, history of Islam, hiking, plant spotting, website construction, Black Rock City
Favorite Movies The Return of Martin Guerre, Andrei Rublyov, Delicatessen, Sex Lies and Videotape, R Crumb, Raiders of the Lost Ark
Favorite Books The Brothers Karamazov, Darkness at Noon, All Quiet on the Western Front, Gulliver's Travels, The House of Si Abd Allah, Heart of Darkness